CHURCH CELEBRATIONS // GOGO TOMAGO

Well it’s been a while! I’ve been feeling kind of overwhelmed recently but I don’t even know why. Probably why I haven’t written anything in some time..

Anyways two Sundays ago on the 6th of September we had a hectic time celebrating Father’s Day and our church’s 5th birthday. It was a really enjoyable day and I had a great time, although preparation was a little stressful. It was so much fun and a lot happened, but in this post I want to write about what I wore for the costume party!

dsc01895 [coloured]_副本
Group shot of the youth!
As soon as I found out there was going to be a costume party, I got really excited and started thinking about what I would wear. It was difficult deciding on who I wanted to go as, because while we’re a church family, not everyone shares the same views and I didn’t want to unintentionally offend anyone with the way I decided to dress. It took some time but I finally settled on Gogo Tomago from Big Hero 6!

This costume wasn’t extremely accurate but I still put a little effort into it. Thankfully I didn’t need to make anything from scratch – all the clothing pieces I either bought or altered from things I already had at home. It was relatively cheap to make and could have been cheaper if I was a bit more cautious with spending my money.. Heh.

For the top part of her costume I had to buy a tank top. Personally I don’t like tank tops because they expose the shape of my stomach but well, since it was a special occasion and she wears a jacket over it, I didn’t mind too much. Her jacket is a cropped leather one, but I ended up using just a regular leather jacket since I didn’t want to blow more cash. I do have a black cropped jacket, but it has princess sleeves and lace so it wasn’t really appropriate considering Gogo’s more of a tomboy.

dscn3385 coloured_副本
Leather jacket crew! Tris (Divergent), Kate Bishop/Hawkeye (Marvel) and Gogo Tomago (Big Hero 6)

I did buy a pair of black shorts that I had planned to alter, but I ended up using another pair I already had because they simply suit the costume better. Her leggings were a little challenging. The rips didn’t turn out how I wanted (I cut them weirdly and I didn’t want to ruin another pair) and it took me a while to figure out how to show the purple underneath since I couldn’t find the right coloured tights. What I ended up doing was buying a really inexpensive and large sports shirt from a department store and kinda just cut them up and made like.. things I could slip on my legs underneath the tights. I attempted to sew them onto the leggings but I got sort of lazy so they didn’t stay on that well and I had to keep rearranging them throughout the day.

dscn3509_副本
Balloons make everything better

As for the wig, I ordered that from Match Wigs since I had no issues with them last time. Unfortunately the style I wanted was out of stock so I ended up buying another wig which was similar. The wig itself was alright, although I’m not sure if this is because of the style of the wig, but the hair at the crown was sort of frazzled and rough – brushing it out helped but it wasn’t smooth and silky like the previous wig I had bought from them. I bought purple extensions for $5 and since I have no idea how to sew wefts into wigs, I just clipped the extensions in underneath some layers and cut them to length.

I had a hard time putting on the wig because my hair is quite long and I had no idea how to hide it without making my head look enormous and lumpy (like the last time I had to wear a wig). Luckily for me, a cosplayer attended our service that day and she helped get ready!

dscn3565

For Gogo’s accessories I just wore regular sport shoes and borrowed some fingerless gloves. I didn’t end up wearing any wristbands or bracelets.. because I forgot. Oops.

On the day there was an array of costumes. I’m quite pleased that people dressed up because to be honest, I wasn’t expecting many people to be into it (and well yeah, not everyone was). We even held a costume contest and a lot of photos ended up being taken (if you wanna see them they’re here). The service consisted of a short sermon and then some performances – poetry, musical items, dances and the like. Afterwards we had lunch, and then some of us went outside to take more photos. The building we rent for our services is situated in a very nice park area and since we were all dressed up, we wanted to utilize our surroundings and take some aesthetic pictures (yeah we’re kinda lame)..

dscn3448 coloured_副本

Overall it was a very great day.

My friend also asked me to do an edit for her. I’m not actually very good at editing photos (apart from putting filters over them), but I ended up doing two:

dscn3553 done

dscn3547 done

And that’s about it for now, ciao!

Leave a Reply

