SETTING SAIL

As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, two of my friends and I are attempting to start a small business. It’s called Victorious Vessels and right now the focus is on bottle charm jewelry, but hopefully we can expand in the future. We’ve been planning it since the beginning of the year, slowly making preparations (since each of us had other priorities too) and trying to figure out what does and doesn’t work. It’s been an interesting ride since none of us know anything about how to manage a shop, and as a result there have been a few mistakes here and there. Nothing fatal has happened though and we are not in any crippling debt, thankfully.

While we were planning, we decided we weren’t going to tell many people about our project until we were ready and had something to present. We came up with heaps of designs for necklaces and picked out a few to materialize. After they were made, one of our members sold them at her school to get some feedback, which went great. We also considered logos, shipping, names (boy what a journey that was!) and other things you’d probably expect from starting out a business. Everything went pretty well, despite the long time period.

The reason I’m writing about this now is because last Sunday was the day we (more like my business partner) finally announced it to our friends at church! Honestly, I had been putting it for a few weeks because I felt like we weren’t ready, but I think that no matter how long we would have postponed it for, I would have never felt ready. I’d say the reception was mostly good, although I can’t be too certain as I was passed out on some chairs most of the time due to staying up late the night before. Two of our friends became our very first “official” customers, which was really sweet of them! Hopefully they liked what they bought. 🙂

Having this out in the open makes the whole thing seem much more official, and truth be told, that kind of scares me. It means we’ll have to be more serious about the responsibilities that come with owning a business since people will be watching us from now on. For this reason I’m glad that I’m not running it all by myself. As someone with a lot of pride, there are times when I feel a little tense with my two friends. But I’m glad that we’re in this together, because there’s absolutely no way I would have been able to make it this far if it was just me. And although it will require a lot of work and effort, hopefully we can turn this into something great!

001-3_副本

Follow us on Instagram @victorious.vessels !

Leave a Reply

